C25K Week 3 Run 1 – Finally … and smug!

Week 3 consists of 5 minutes walking, 90 seconds running, 90 seconds walking, 3 minutes running, 3 minutes walking, 90 seconds running, 90 seconds walking 3 minutes running, 5 minutes walking.  Let me tell you those 3 minutes of running (without a break) have scared me silly.

My apologies for taking so long to get another post up.  I could say I’ve been busy and yada yada yada, but I would be lying.  Truth is I have kind of been a bit slack with the running.

It all started on Sunday when I really just couldn’t be bothered, the day wore on and it was nagging in the back of my mind, but I just didn’t have the motivation to do it.  I also think I was a bit scared of the fact that I was going to have to run for 3 minutes straight, you know, without a break!  Running 90 seconds has been a killer – this will be twice as long as I’ve run so far – without a break!  I was sure Robert Ullrey had made a mistake on his podcast, but it appeared not.   To cut a long story short – I didn’t go.  I felt like I’d let myself down, my blog readers, my Twitter friends – I felt very slack.

Monday came, no run.  Tuesday, no run.  Wednesday, no run … until 7.00 pm when I decided I would go to the gym and get my run done.  I had to do it, it was making me feel all churned up inside.   I decided I could do the 3 minutes of running, that’s 3 minutes running straight without a break, and was pumped.  I got to the gym turned on my iPod and realised I only had Weeks 1 and 2 downloaded.  Nothing else to do but do week 2 again. It was relatively comfortable because I’d psyched myself up for a longer run.  I also put the incline up to 1 for some added adventure!

This morning I decided to run early as I have a busy day ahead.  I dropped my son to work and stopped at the gym.  I am running at the gym due to dreadful weather here in Brisbane.  I have decided that I won’t be using weather as an excuse – ever.   Also there is a gym bonus – facilities are very handy and clean!

I am happy to report that I made the run and still felt like I could have done another set of 90 seconds and 3 minutes.  I did have the incline set at zero today – just in case.  On Sunday I will try this run on incline 1 – soon I’ll be an extreme runner!

So, now I am sitting at my desk, showered, exercised and organised for my day.  I feel so smug.  And good.

I’m loving that so many of my readers are also doing the C25K and love hearing how you are going.  If you are blogging about it too, leave me your link so I can visit your blog and encourage you the way you are encouraging me.   Thanks everyone, without my blog and Twitter I know I’d be slacking off permanently now.

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in C25K, Healthy Living, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to C25K Week 3 Run 1 – Finally … and smug!

  1. Hi darling,
    I’m not doing your particular challenge, but I am doing my own fat to fit challenge. I know what it’s like to NOT want to work out, and how much better I feel when I do.
    So I guess I just wanted to add my support here, and say stick with it. xo

  2. Lucy says:

    “So, now I am sitting at my desk, showered, exercised and organised for my day. I feel so smug. And good.”

    Ah, lovely.

    And those happy endorphins & hormones are so good for you.

    Well done!

  3. Jodie says:

    Well Done Annie! I saw you’d done your run on twitter today so as soon as practical I jumped on my treadmill. I struggled the last 3 min run almost convincing myself I had some sort of pain, my legs or chest, but luckily it was only in my head! I don’t think you’re smug – you’re proud and you should be!

  4. Kirsty Rice says:

    Well done!

    Have you discovered the app on itunes for C25K? I found I got a bit sick of Robert Ulrey’s music by about week 4 so now I just listen to my own music with the app running in the background.

    You can see on my blog in the twitter page that my run updates went a little pear shaped (literally) for awhile, but I’m back at it now. You motivated me to get back to it the other day. Thanks.

    Week 7, day 1 here I come.
    Kx

    http://shamozal.blogspot.com/

  5. JohnP says:

    Sometimes we all need to take a few extra days off. Don’t beat yourself up over it. I think it is actually healthy. You were listening to your body. We still have today, tomorrow and next week to do better for ourselves and our fitness.

    This week, I also struggled with the 3 minute runs. For me, the rest periods were too short, so after failing on the first attempt to even complete the intervals OR complete the jogs. This morning, I increased the rest interval to 90 seconds. That made all the difference for me.

    None of these jogging plans is perfect for everyone, so we need to be smart about modifying them for our individual bodies. For me, that means 60 seconds of rest isn’t enough, but 90 seconds is just perfect. Now that I understand it, I’ll use 90 seconds for the next few weeks wherever the plan calls for 60 seconds of rest. I’ll still follow the jog interval times, since pushing just a little longer *is* important if we hope to improve.

    Keep going. We are only defeated if we stop forever. I tell myself, “Just keep going. “

  6. Suzie G says:

    I’m starting on Monday!! I have been using excuses to not start: wet weather = mud; I’ve been away; mud is now dry however I would be carried away by scotch gray mozzies; up half the night with kids, so I’m not getting up early; and so on and so forth :)

    No more! Watch out for a post… there I’ve said it. Now I have to do it.

  7. Naomi says:

    Well done Annie! Sometimes we do need a bit of an extra break. You are doing well. I remember almost dying with exhaustion just running the 90 second intervals… and being passed by a group of senior citizens as they merrily ran past me.

    Keep it up… just remember how great it feels after doing it! xxx

  8. Maxabella says:

    You’re doing so well!

    I run, as you know, but I’m doing a bit of a hard core weight loss thing and it’s soooooooo hard. I’m sooooooo bored.

    I started this morning.

    x

  9. Keep it up, Annie! One of the best trainers I had said to me once “do you think I wake up everyday and have the motivation to exercise? Do you think I really enjoy it all that much?” His answers to both questions was no, he didn’t always feel motivated and he knew what he did was going to hurt, and not be particularly enjoyable. But he did it because he viewed it as a necessary part of his life…and so taught himself to become almost robotic about it. Didn’t think about it too much – just did it. OK…I’m certainly not like him, but when I do feel totally unmotivated, I think about what he told me. I was doing C25K but then found I’d end up running a bit more or less..and didn’t really want to be ruled by it. So I’ve started just running for as long as I can and far as I can. Today I had a great run for a good 45mins. Feel great but will have aches and pains tomorrow!

  10. Mindy says:

    Hi there! Came across your site as I was googling c25k again to look at this week’s schedule… I’m set to do W3R1 today. I didn’t eat very healthy for lunch, so I’m a little bummed about that, but I’m trying not letting it get in the way of the run… :/ Anyway, I will definitely check back and see how you’re doing! Way to go! I’ll have to catch up on your other posts. I’m trying to blog now and again about my adventure with the program too. Good times. :)

  11. LoveLife says:

    Ha I just did week 3 run 1!

Leave a Reply

