Turn that frown upside down!

People who know me well often say that I am always (well mostly) happy and don’t let too much get me down and that I am very tolerant of others.   This week I have been feeling a bit sorry for myself as I’ve been laid up with a disgusting cold.  I did wallow around for a day but didn’t enjoy it one little bit.  I do prefer to be upbeat and always looking at the bright side.   It got me to thinking about how I do this.  I don’t consciously set about to be “upbeat” – it is just the way I roll.  However I did give some thought to the way I approach things and I came up with 8 tips.   If you need to turn that frown upside down you might like to read on.

Things go wrong, plans get spoiled – life can be like that – but you can have a great day regardless, especially if you start your day off breathing. If you aren’t breathing, my guess is you don’t need this post!

Believe in Fate  – Whatever happens today is meant to happen. So what if you didn’t get to drive to the beach because you had a flat tyre this morning – don’t worry about it. You weren’t meant to go to the beach today. You probably would have gotten a bad case of sunburn and sand in your crotch!

Improvise – If it is raining when you wake and your romantic picnic plans are now spoiled – don’t be sad. Stop, smell the rain, think of all the plants getting watered and pull the blanket up around you and be grateful that you have a comfortable bed and a dry home. There are plenty who don’t! You can always have a “naked” indoor picnic with your loved one!

Take a moment – You are at work and you are trying to beat a deadline but your telephone doesn’t stop ringing, your colleague keeps asking questions and you are missing the final piece of information you need to finish. Stop, take a deep breath, get up and go for a walk outside for 5 minutes. Think about how lucky you are to have a job and how different your life would be if you were unable to work. You will return with a fresh attitude.

Look through someone else’s eyes – You have an important function to attend at the weekend and you don’t have enough money to buy a new outfit. Don’t be depressed – I bet you have a cupboard full of clothes you can wear, you just don’t see it. Invite your favourite and most stylish friend over and ask her to be your stylist for the occasion. My guess is you will be amazed at what someone else can do with your wardrobe.

When one door closes another always opens – That special someone you have had your eye on for some months has just started dating your work colleague … bummer! Don’t be glum – it wasn’t meant to be. What it means is your eyes can now be opened to that person you couldn’t previously see.

Enjoy the moment – You’ve got so much to do but your child really wants you to go outside and play with them.  You get more and more annoyed as they nag at you – conflicted by what you need to do and what you should do as a mum.  Forget about the things you have to do – you can always do them later or tomorrow.  Go out and and spend 1/2 hour with your child.  Both you and your child will feel better – you will probably be able to come back in and finish what you need to with a fresh perspective.  Plus you have just given your child a wonderful memory to store away in their special memory bank. 

Forgive – Your sister borrowed your favourite dress without asking and ruined it. You haven’t spoken to her for 2 weeks now. You are miserable and every spare moment you are seething about what she has done whilst she appears to not care, and that is bothering you more than the dress. Reality is she’s not doing anything to you – you are doing it to yourself. She has apologised and offered to pay for a new one but you can’t let it go and it’s eating you up. Why? Accept her apology and move on – you will feel 100 times better. It is so easy to do – you take responsibility for how you feel and stop giving that power to others.

Be grateful – No matter what is going on in your life there is always someone in the world who is going through something worse. When you feel like your life is caving in and it can’t get worse – spare a thought for people living in third world countries, victims of rape and abuse, the terminally ill and those people who are totally alone forgotten by families and friends. I guarantee you will feel grateful for what you have.

Next time you are feeling down and having a bad day, perhaps all you need is shift in perspective to give your day a new feeling. Try it sometime – you have nothing to lose but a bad day!

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in Motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Turn that frown upside down!

  1. Katrina says:

    Thanks for this post Annie. I really enjoyed it. I like to be upbeat like you, but sometimes we all need a kick up the butt to be reminded. Love the new blog layout – you look so cute 🙂

  2. Janelle says:

    This post has such wonderful timing for me. It’s something I really needed to read this morning. Thanks. Now I’m going to go put a smile on my face and make something of my day as best I can.

    P.S. I love the new blog as well.

    • Annieb25 says:

      I’m so glad you read this when you needed it. Hope you enjoy your weekend up the coast. Glad you are back x

  3. Julie-Ann says:

    Love it Annie. If we all followed these 8 tips the world would be a better place. Next time I feel a frown coming on I will try to take this advice. Thanks:)

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Turn that frown upside down! | Living Life as Me -- Topsy.com

  5. Bern Morley says:

    Awesome. Really really well written and just so true. I’m a fairly positive person too, but need to put myself in others positions sometimes because I don’t always get it.

    Loved reading this Bern x

  6. great post – love the new blog

  7. dicardy says:

    oh, I think I would have turned off the phone; or baked a blackberry pie; put the brakes on not at all… you saw thelma.. her right foot was up.. it is beaut when they’re moving. some believe mowing a combat sport. cheers. watt photo?

  8. Kylie L says:

    Good stuff- especially the last one. Sad that I need to be reminded of that, but I do.

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention Turn that frown upside down! | Living Life as Me -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

