My Friends are Like Teapots

I am one of those people who collect friends like some people collect teapots.  Once I have you, I don’t let you go.  Some people might think I have too many, but I don’t think a girl can ever have too many teapots, oops I mean friends.  I may not see you and touch you and even talk to you for ages, but when I do see you, it’s just like it was the last time we saw each other. 

Just like the teapots, once I wipe the dust off and put a fresh brew in, it’s like I had a tea with you yesterday.

Without my beautiful friends I would not be the person I am today.  When I recently wrote my post “How Red Shoes Taught me About Love” I did not expect the stream of amazing comments from new and old friends and people I have never met.  I also did not expect my best friend, for most of my life (45 years to be precise) to find my post and write the beautiful comment she did.   I couldn’t reply for a few days because it was too emotional for me.

That post, and the phenomenon last week that was “Bloggers without Makeup”, made me think about the friendships I have and how important they have always been throughout my life.   For the most part of my life I haven’t had family, and whilst this was sad, I never felt totally alone – I have always had the most wonderful friends.  Last Friday I felt so great about myself because of the beautiful comments on my blog, left by new friends I’ve made on Twitter and through Blogging and people I have never interacted with before.  It reminded me how amazing women are and how important reaching out and touching each other is.

I have a gift for all my teapots – the vintage bone china ones who are delicate and beautiful, yet always ready when you need them; the crazed earthenware ones that have been through a lot, but are just as strong as they day they were new; the functional stainless steel pot that never lets you down; the trendy new funky teapot that cost an absolute fortune, but is really impractical and doesn’t pour without making a mess but whenever you use it there is always much fun and laughter; and the new ones that don’t have a history with me yet, but are beautiful and bring me pleasure whenever I see them. 

This song, “Stand by Me” is one of my favourites and always reminds of how important authentic friendships are and how much we need people who will stand by us, no matter what.

I love this version as it is part of the “Playing for Change – Peace through Music” series.  It’s just beautiful and it is my gift to all my friends, old and new. 

Crank up the volume and enjoy!  You really will love it.   

I consider everyone who touches my life and my heart to be my friend. 

“Friends are the family you choose for yourself”

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in Family, Friendship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to My Friends are Like Teapots

  1. Patty says:

    Beautiful post Annie. {{{embrace}}} Love the teapot theme, even if I do spout more than my share of rubbish, lol, I’ll always have a handle on life and can deal with the hot water that life…..of stop it already, lol. 🙂

  2. anidledad says:

    I collect teapots like people collect teapots!

  3. Seraphim says:

    I love this analogy. What a perfect way to start to my day reading this post.

    • Annieb25 says:

      I’m so glad my post gave you a perfect start to the day. There is something so comforting about tea and teapots.

  4. Carol says:

    I am honoured to be considered your friend, Annie!

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention My Friends are Like Teapots | Living Life as Me -- Topsy.com

  6. Hi Annie,
    I love friends and teapots too.
    Last time I came back from Hanoi, I had 80kgs excess baggage- some tailor made clothes but mostly tea sets from “ceramic village.” I’m obsessed.
    I visit T2 weekly. The manager was my peer support student at high school!Yesterday we hugged and kissed on both cheeks. http://www.t2tea.com.au
    I love The Tea Centre with their huge Chinese tins, I get high from the whiff of the perfumes which are sent in boxes from Scandanavia. I’ve seen them unpacking them! http://www.theteacentre.com.au
    My friend is in China right now staying on a tea plantation and before he went, he gave me all his teas! http://francesjones.posterous.com/qvb-tea-room
    I collect not only tea sets, but tea canisters. I keep the ones I don’t use that often, in big Japanese tatami mat boxes. The tea pot I use each day is a glass one so I can see the tea. This morning I had a pot of the Tea Centre’s Monk Pear as well as a green tea which is just right. I’m very fussy. I am a tea conoisseur.
    I have a friend who renovated a lovely room in her house where we sit and drink tea. Another friend in the Mountains has a cosy kitchen and she’s pretty standard with her range of teas. Mind you, the food they have! On Sunday we ate a New Zealand chocolate ice cream which costs $18 a tub and I’ve never had anything like it. The fresh fish with fresh salad … they’re food lovers.
    I love tea lovers, they take the time to stop, chat and slow down.
    In summer I often drink green teas like T2’s Gorgeous Geisha or there are some lovely Japanese Genmaicha. As it gets colder I get the black teas out ~ T2’s Melbourne Breakfast (hint of vanilla) & creme brulee |
    I sometimes like Dilmah: Peppermint & English Toffee | black, 1 sugar
    I have a Google Wave going of high tea spots and there are these posts:
    http://hightea.posterous.com/chinese-tea-appreciation-at-zensation-0
    http://francesjones.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/high-tea-at-the-victoria-room

    Francie :-)x

    • Annieb25 says:

      Ooh Francie I just loved reading your comment. Isn’t tea just so wonderful? I love everything about the cup of tea. The ritual, the teapot, the variety of teas, the taste, the warmth …. ahhhh I’m off to make one now. Thank you for visiting my blog and thank you for all the Retweets on Twitter. xxx

  7. Thank you lovely Annie x

  8. Liz K says:

    One of my favourite songs too Annie & I thought that version was awesome when I first saw it, still do 🙂

    • Annieb25 says:

      Every time I come back to this post to read the comments I play it again. I love it too. Makes my heart sing to see those talented people.

  9. Christie says:

    That’s a beautiful post, Annie. I aspire one day to have a great collection of friends, it’s an area of my life that I’m completely crap at. I am getting better at it as I get older – it sucks that it doesn’t come naturally to me, could be my aversion to the telephone, I find it a duty and have to force myself to make phone calls…hmmm another post for another day maybe.
    But I would be happy to be classed as one of your newer pots, ready to make history lol
    xx

    • Annieb25 says:

      Christie consider yourself sitting on my shelf with my other pots. History is in the making. I am sure you are not crap at friendships. There are so many ways to have friends that don’t involve the phone. I’m not a big fan myself. Some people like to have many teapots some only like a special few. I’m sure the teapots you have are very special. Less can sometimes be more. xx

  10. Naomi says:

    Beautiful. I love tea pots, I love my friends. I have had a best friend since we were 10. I love & miss her. Your so right that friends are family you choose yourself. I was sent the Playing for change CD by a friend… I had forgotten about it until now. Thank you for reminding me… and thank you for this post. Am honoured to be considered a friend of yours.

    • Annieb25 says:

      Oh Naomi you are that special teapot I use when I’ve made my Chai Tea. Thank you for vising my blog and for your lovely comments. I am meeting some truly beautiful people via twitter and blogging. I need to make room for more teapots I think. xx

  11. Julie-Ann says:

    A beautiful way to say something so important. I am the same with my friends- we don’t see each other regularly (we all work too much) but when we do we it was like we just chatted yesterday:)

    • Annieb25 says:

      and isn’t that exactly what friendship is all about. I love that you can do that with true friends. Thank you for your lovely comments and for visiting my blog. I love that you come here. xx

  12. Kim says:

    I don’t care what type of teapot I am, just really happy to be in the collection, 45 years on!!! Love the version of the song!!!

    • Annieb25 says:

      Ahh you were my very first teapot and to this day you are still as beautiful as when I first met you. xxx I love that song version too. It makes my heart sing when I hear it.

  13. Cate Bolt says:

    I’ve never really had too many people to call friends. I do very much love this version of that song 🙂

    • Annieb25 says:

      I am certian the friends you do have are very special to you and you to them. I love that version too – my absolute favourite. The passion on those guys faces is joyous. xx

  14. Tracy Rudd says:

    Love it all…the post, the teapots, the song, (an awesome version from a totally inspiring project). Have we just met, or have we known each other a very long time? I’m not sure.

    I have a collection of teapots sitting across the top of my kitchen, one of which was my great-grandmother’s; another giant spotted beauty was given by lovely employees when I left England to come home. I have a collection of friends stretching across years and continents, some of whom I take tea with and some of whom I’ve never sat down with, in a physical sense. I treasure them all. I have added you to my collection. I hope you don’t mind. x

    • Annieb25 says:

      The more I talk to you and read your blog and your comments here on my blog the more I think we have known each other a very long time. Maybe in a past life perhaps. Maybe we have already taken tea together?

      I am honoured to be in your collection – you are also in mine. I look forward to having tea with you often. Even if it is only virtually. xx

  15. Maxabella says:

    I love the way you honour the things in your life that are important. It makes important, uplifting reading. How lucky you are to have so many wonderful teapots! Thanks for sharing.

    • Annieb25 says:

      Thank you! I think we should always honour the important things in our lives. I hope you have many wonderful teapots in your life too. xx

  16. Pingback: The Warm Blanket of Friendship | Living Life as Me

Leave a Reply

