My Favourite Medicine

Yesterday and today I have had the pleasure (not) of having a virus.  Aches, fevers, sore throat and exhausted.  As a result I have had cravings for hot lemon & honey drinks and chicken noodle soup.   Today I felt better than yesterday and have been able to fulfill my cravings.   

Normally I just have a Lemon and Honey drink, however today I really craved Ginger.  After a quick Tweet the lovely Jane from Janezworld directed me to some Ginger Tea recipes.  The recipe below is what I made and it was amazingly delicious. 

Ginger, Lemon & Honey Drink

  • 1 inch knob of ginger peeled and sliced into about 6 slices
  • 2 cups water
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1 teaspoon Organic Honey

Put ginger and water into a saucepan and bring to boil.  Boil for approximately 5 minutes.   Pour water, strain ginger out, into a mug.  Squeeze in juice of half a lemon and add 1 teaspoon honey, stir and enjoy.  Oh my goodness it is so warming and delicious.  If you love ginger you will love this.

*******************

Chicken Meatball & Noodle Soup

   Meatballs:

  • 500 grams chicken mince
  • 2 cloves crushed/minced garlic
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • fresh thyme (however much you like)
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese (grated)

Mix together in a bowl and leave while you cut up the ingredients for the soup.  I make the actual meat balls while the soup is cooking.

   Soup:

  • 2 onions
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 4 carrots
  • 2 massell chicken stock cubes
  • 2 litres chicken stock plus approx 1 litre of extra water
  • Angel hair pasta (or whatever you like – San Remo Gluten Free also works really well)

Chop onion and celery and put in saucepan with 2 massel stock cubes and a splash of olive oil.  Cook until soft and fragrant.  Add chopped carrots (I cut them in half long ways and then chop) and let cook with onions and celery for five or so minutes.  While this is happening roll the mince mixture into balls – smallish ones about the size of a golf ball.   Add the stock and when hot put all the meat balls into the pot.  Put a lid on and cook.  Don’t boil too hard, a simmer is good.   I usually cook for an hour or longer – I believe the longer you simmer soup the better it tastes.  You can add additional water – just taste as you go to make sure it still taste flavoursome.  Prior to serving add angel hair pasta broken up into 3 cm pieces.   Tastes really good with a little bit of parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.

*******************

Those are my favourite medicines when I’m sick and sooky lal la.  What is your favourite “medicine”?

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in Family, Healthy Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Favourite Medicine

  1. Jane says:

    I make large batches of chicken soup and freeze it, then add beaten egg and grated cheese etc when needed: on days I am not well, tired or just feeling off colour.

    2 (or 1&1/2) Chicken breast diced: saute in butter with garlic. Drain on paper towel.
    Dice and saute 2 large onions. Drain.
    In large saucepan tip a 1 litre box of chicken stock liquid (or make your own – which I sometimes do) and same amount in water. Add in the chicken, and onion.
    Bring slowly to boil.
    Add large can creamed corn, possibly 2
    (I have made this for so many years I don’t measure just go by look & tatste)
    cook until the flavours are through.
    Now decant into what ever boxes you have (I use the rectangular plastic boxes)
    Cool, then freeze, put the date on the outside of the box.
    On the day you are sick, tired or cold. (or Lazy)
    Thaw, then bring the soup to a rolling boil.
    While the soup is heating beat an egg and then pour in slowly into the soup. Cook.
    Pour into your soup cup and top with grated cheese, chopped fresh parsley
    and pepper.
    Enjoy.

  2. Denyse says:

    Annie, such great ideas/recipes but lovely ain’t it
    truth that no-one except you (sick girl) could
    do the cooking :(. So whilst i, on the other hand, enjoy hot buttered white bread toast with
    Vegemite, Rosella Tinned Tomato soup, and
    If i’m lucky I’ll find some nice home made
    Rissotto in freezer with chicken, bacon &sweet potato.
    Hope you are much better soon xx

  3. Maxabella says:

    These are true comfort foods. Hope you’re feeling much better, Annie. x

  4. MsDovic says:

    I’m so gonna try that chicken soup.

    My comfort food is toast because it’s all the energy I have to make. And I can generally squeeze a honey lemon chamomile tea out of hubby.

    It’s my hot water bottle that gets me through the night 🙂

    Hope you feel better soon lovely Annie

    xx

  5. Naomi says:

    They sound yum. When I’m unwell I down huge quantities of pulpy orange juice and fruit toast with vegemite. It’s all I can stomach.

    Hope you’re feeling much, much better very soon. xxx

  6. Thea says:

    These recipes look great! Thanks for sharing. I’ll be coming back here if I’m feeling sick! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Hosting

  8. My ideal comfort food when I’m sick is anything prepared by someone else. Toast will do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

