Kreativ Blogger Meme

The very lovely Shelley from My Shoebox Life passed me the Kreativ Blogger Meme last week.  I have taken a bit too long to pass it on, but I am finally here.

If you don’t follow Shelley on Twitter or read her blog My Shoebox Life you really should. She is ever so lovely.

So, here are the rules:

1. Copy the award to your blog
2. Insert a link to the person who nominated you
3. Share seven things about yourself that you haven’t told us before
4. Nominate other bloggers for the award – share the love
5. Link to their blogs
6. Tell the nominees about their award

Because I blog about a lot of personal things I’m going to have to dig deep to find some interesting and perhaps quirky things that you won’t already know.  I have a feeling that if you didn’t already think I was odd, after reading these, you will!

Here goes …

1. I am incredibly superstitious.  I will never walk under a ladder, and have extended this to stairs or escalators, if I put something on inside out I will leave it that way if I can’t get someone to take it off for me, I freak out if I see shoes on a table and I always get out of bed the same side I got into it.  Always.

2. I’m stealing this from Shelley – it is almost word for word how I feel. I really stress myself out over buying presents for people.  You name it, Mothers Day, Father Day (don’t remind me, I know it is next week), Christmas, Birthdays, etc.  I will literally spend hours and hours looking at all sorts of present ideas – confusing myself no end and usually resorting to a last minute crappy present because I’ve just worked myself up into such a tizz over it.

3. Also stealing this one. I have a major slight obsession about the toilet roll needing to go over the top of the dispenser, not under.  Oh no, never under.  Ever!  And yes, I have changed toilet rolls around in other people’s houses when they were facing under!

4. I am very sensitive to smells.  I love perfume and always have some on.  I smell a perfume from my past and have an instant memory of a time I wore it.  I have a strange compulsion to smell anything I pick up.  I smell nice things such as food, fabric, paper, fingers, hair, perfume, dogs, puppies, shoe polish (my favourite smell) and babies heads.  I also smell not so nice things, even though I know it will make me gag.   Feel free to call me odd.

5. I have an unnatural fear of cockroaches.  I will do anything to get away from one.  I have leapt down a full flight of stairs, demanded the maternity hospital let me and my baby leave hospital immediately (10.00 pm) and most recently I have commando crawled out from under a dressing room wall when trying on a dress in the city.  What is a girl to do?  A cockroach is crawling towards me in the cubicle and blocking the door.  All I can do is go under.  Thank goodness they were the type of cubicle that had a gap between the wall and floor.   I performed a nice tidy commando crawl and think I still came out with my dignity.  Kind of.  Had I stayed with said cockroach I may have had other embarrassing things to deal with.

6. When I was younger, early 20’s, I set myself 3 goals in my life – To ride in a helicopter (not a joy flight but for a reason); have a hot air balloon ride and swim with dolphins.  I can happily say I have achieved all of these goals.  I have since set another one which was to skydive from an aeroplane – not yet achieved.  Fear of heights and anxiety is preventing me from this one.  One day though, I will do it.

7.  My life long dream is to write a book.  I have wanted to since I was a small child.  Books were my life. Enid Blyton was my best friend.   I still love books.  One day, I will follow my dream.  I will.

I now pass this Meme on to the follow lovely bloggers.  If you don’t read their blogs or follow them on Twitter.  You really should. x

The very beautiful A-M from The House that A-M Built

The lovely Jane from Life @ Number Eight

The amazing Anj from Anj Writes About

The very lovely & hilarious Cate from I’ll Think of a Title Later

The gorgeous Jodi from Missea

The beautiful Christie from Home Grown

Last, but by no means least, the very talented Bern from So Now What?

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kreativ Blogger Meme

  1. Cate Pearce says:

    Thanks Annie darling, not sure I havent already spilled my guts to everybody about everything too, but I’ll have to see what I can come up with.
    I do the toilet roll thing too.
    Used to agonise over presents, much less now.
    Also hate cockroaches with a passion.
    I’m also a bit superstitious, and I smell things unneccesarily too.
    I think you’ve done my blog for me 😉

  2. You are honestly so sweet – and not *too* odd at all. Although I’m sure I am saying that only because I tend to do many of the things you mention above!! Will have to get thinking about new skeletons to rip from my closet for your viewing pleasure! 😉

    xo

  3. Jane says:

    Annie,
    thanks
    Hmmm thinking cap on….

  4. Jodi Gibson says:

    Great idea and great post Annie.
    I really thought I was the only one with the toilet roll thingy! NEVER EVER and it really annoys me when someone else puts it on the wrong way. I always change it if I am at someones house and even went through a stage where I had to have it folded like they do in hotels! LOL.

  5. Christie says:

    Thank you for this award Annie!
    I thought my husband was odd because he would smell everything, good…and bad. But after 5 years of marriage I now find I’ve picked up his habit, and it doesn’t seem so odd anymore, more like a basic instinct!
    And I will be sure to check out your other blogger recommendations!
    xx

  6. Oooh what fun! I don’t think you are odd at all … we all have our quirks, which makes us all that much more interesting. Thanks for sharing xo

  7. I love your blog – a well deserved Meme!

    I too am a toilet-roll-turner-arounderer and my fear of cockroaches has sprung from a rather nasty incident involving one of those little bush roaches and my right ear: http://nadinewrites108.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/cockroach-anyone/
    and I am cheering you on to your skydiving goal (also one of mine… perhaps we’ll meet in the clouds with our faces stretched around our heads!)

    Nadine

  8. Maxabella says:

    I love finding out more about your quirky side!!!

    I’m going to share right back because I just kept thinking yes, yes, yes, er no…

    1. So me, but I try so hard not to be.

    2. Not so much. I love present purchasing.

    3. Oh god, yes. I HAVE to change the roll around and I often wonder if my hosts notice.

    4. I claim this at nappy change time.

    5. Unnatural. And of snakes. And sharks.

    6. I would worry that the helicopter would have “Westpac Rescue” on the side so I wouldn’t want that one.

    7. Love to read them. Can’t imagine writing one. I also adore Enid Blyton and am in my ‘second wave’ as I share her with my children. Secretly I think Mr Galiano’s Circus is still my favourite book of all time – oh to be Jimmy Brown!

Leave a Reply

