Couch to 5 k Running Plan (C25K) – Week 1 Day 1

The longest journey begins with but a single step … Lao-Tzu Ain’t that the truth baby. That dude definitely knew what he was talking about!

Today I began the C25K Running Plan thanks to the inspiration from the lovely Shelley over at My Shoebox Life.   It is finally time for me to get moving.  I’m unfit, unhealthy and simply NOT HAPPY JAN.  Summer is coming and I am not fit for public consumption.  The final straw was my lovely Chiropractor asking me on Friday if I was doing any exercise.  When I said “um no” he said “I thought so”.  I took that as a sign.  A sign to get up of my big fat lard arse and move it and a sign to stop referring to him as “lovely”.  He clearly isn’t.

Although in the interest of being authentic and true to myself, the final straw was many months ago when I was having a Tim Tam binge and, well you can read about it here.  I didn’t really follow through on any of that.  I got sick and life got in the way and yada yada yada, we’ve heard it all before.  So to be honest I’m not really that good at actually seeing things through.  I start off with unbridled enthusiasm and then just as quickly I’m over it. One of the pitfalls of being a Gemini I’m told.  So, we can probably say Friday was the final final straw after the final straw from before.  You with me?

I had been watching Shelley’s running evolve via her blog and, to be honest, have been truly surprised (and a little envious) at how much she is loving it.  A few years ago when I was fit, I used to enjoy running too, but the thought of it these days makes me go and eat more chocolate!   Although I have to say with every one of Shelley’s blog posts I was getting closer and closer to wanting to do it too.

One thing holding me back, aside from laziness, was how to time the interval running. Having to pay so much attention to my watch seemed awfully hard while I’m killing myself with running.  Shelley solved that problem in one Tweet!  She recommended I download podcasts by Robert Ullrey of the full running program.   I did.  Today I ran.

So, here’s how it goes.  The first day is a brisk five minute walking warmup followed by eight sets of 60 second interval runs. A 90 second recovery follows each interval and you finish up with a 5 minute cool down.  I got to the start of the 5th 60 second run and had to stop.  Oh the pain in my calf muscles.  I decided to walk out the rest of the session and then come home.

I was disappointed that I didn’t finish the entire 8 runs, but given the level of unfitness I currently have, it’s no surprise.  I will go back down to the school running track on Wednesday and do it again.  I will keep going on week 1 until I can manage the entire 8 runs, even if it takes me 2 or 3 weeks.

I didn’t realise just how much I miss the endorphins exercise gives me and even now while my calves are aching, I do feel 100% better than I did an hour ago before I started.   Watch out Shelley, Ima going to catch you!

I will write a blog post after every run to keep myself accountable to all my lovely blog readers.  Maybe, I might inspire one of you the way Shelley inspired me.  If you don’t see a blog post on C25K 3 times per week, feel free to call me out on it publicly via Twitter or on my blog.  I need it!

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in C25K, Healthy Living, Motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Couch to 5 k Running Plan (C25K) – Week 1 Day 1

  1. sass says:

    Yay!!
    I downloaded the C25K application on the iphone a couple of months ago, went really well for the past couple of weeks and then got lazy again!
    You’ve inspired me to start it again (once I get the iPhone replaced)

    Lets run our arses off (literally in my case!)

    xoxo

  2. Cate Bolt says:

    Good on you. Great stuff. I’d say “inspiring” but I know my ass is glued to the seat and won’t come off it for anyone.

  3. Peter says:

    This clips really been playing on my mind since I saw it on Friday. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SbXgQqbOoU Plus we’re having a month at the beach at Christmas and I don’t want to be that fat old fart that’s too ashamed to get the shirt off and dive into the beautiful summer ocean. I won’t promise you that I’ll be running my arse off, but I’ll certainly be trimming my toosh! 🙂

  4. Shelley says:

    I am so, so proud of you! I still can’t believe that only five weeks ago I was struggling to get through that first week, and now I’m running 20 minutes for the first time in my life. I have no doubt that you’ll get the same results – and yes, blogging about it certainly gives you no excuses! Happy Endorphine Rush to you! There’s plenty more where that came from. 🙂

  5. Seraphimsp says:

    Good on you Annie! I am going to start this as soon as I’ve recovered from this horrible flu. Now that I am getting help with my eating “issues” I am definitely going to work on improving my fitness again. You’re pretty fab, you know that don’t you?

  6. Maxabella says:

    You go girl (and go and go and go and go). Don’t be disappointed, but proud that you got off your butt and got out there! You’re really doing it. x

  7. Lorraine says:

    Annie, my personal trainer and I often discuss how there is no one else training, in the park or doing the steps like us. He has often said to me you watch everyone come out once the weather is warmer. I’ve trained in minus 1 degrees, so far only had three days off training in winter due to heavy rain. All my training is done outside. Annie you should be very proud of yourself that you have finally decided to do something for you. Hang in there it wont take long before you will be at your peak of fitness again.
    Keep up the awesome work Annie. xox

  8. Katrina says:

    Good on you! You will stick with this plan..I know it! As funny as this sounds I lost 12 kg the year before last (accumulated baby fat) running!!! Hang in there 🙂

  9. Naomi says:

    Well done Annie. You should be proud that you got out and did it, not that you didn’t do it all.
    I’ll cheer you on all the way xxx

  10. Gee, it’s funny that everyone is talking about running. I’ve been entertaining these wild thoughts of getting some running shoes for quite a while, and working a run into my days. Wild, because I’ve been a walker all my life, and regularly ragged people who ran, calling it a good walk ruined. 😉

    You’re no fatty boombah, beautiful girl, but I know how it feels to be fine-boned but carrying an extra layer on top. I’m in much better shape than I was this time last year (when I began a program called Fit Yummy Mummy – brilliant stuff), but feel the need to up the cardio and hit the open road…and it’s such a nice road to hit, round my way. Thank you so much for posting this – I think you may have inspired me to go shopping for those shoes. 🙂

  11. Jodi says:

    Go team you!

    I found the very first run difficult as well, and I walked the last run – I felt like I wanted to be sick, and I distinctly remember seeing a shady bit of grass in a neighbour’s lawn on my way home and very nearly going to lie down on it.

    It gets better though, and you’ll absolutely shock yourself when a few weeks down the track you feel as though you can run further than the program is asking of you.

    I look forward to reading about your progress! x

  12. Suzie G says:

    Another person being transformed into a runner – all of you are making me feel more and more lazy every day! I have checked out the C25K program and actually told my hubby about it, so I am getting closer to getting off my bum 🙂

  13. Sue (Just_Leithal) says:

    So glad to read this! Well done, you. Don’t worry about not being able to complete it first go..you have the right attitude, keep at it til you can, you’ll get an enormous amount of satisfaction when you do.

    I started out slow and even had to pull out for a couple of weeks cause my knees went weird on me. But I started back again when I felt I could and it was amazing how quickly I picked it up again.

    Will be reading with interest and cheering you on!

  14. My sister did the C25K program earlier this year and completed the 8km Bridge Run on Sunday. I couldn’t be prouder. Go Annie!

  15. Ali says:

    You go girl!
    you feel so much better when you do exercise! i felt so good when i was jogging/walking 5km every day before i went to Bali, now i just cant get back into it.. ;(
    im sure you will stick to it..
    go girl
    x

  16. You go girl! It’s funny, because I joined a gym just last week after doing an introductory class with the kids. I’m so pleased I’ve finally gotten off my fat arse and started doing something about it. My membership officially starts from today, and I can’t wait to get down there and get my body moving. I can’t do running because of my poor arthritic bones, but hopefully once I lose a little weight I’ll be able to take up a little jogging … hopefully we will both stick with it and get fit and fabulous together!

  17. Meredith (@thinkthinkers) told me about the C25K program early last week and I downloaded the app for my iPod. For a variety of reasons, I can’t get out for a run but I’ve decided to use a long-neglected exercise bike instead. I managed to liberate it from the garage clutter yesterday and I’m planning to do my first ride tomorrow.

    Can’t wait to hear that the happy exercise endorphins are lifting your mood. I’m looking forward to getting active too. It seems like I hardly move at all at the moment and I’m sure that’s part of why I feel so vague all the time.

    Can’t wait to follow your progress. You’re inspiring me to make sure I stick with my plan of following the C25K program too!

  18. Thea says:

    Fan-bloody-tastic! (Bloody seems to be my word for the day!)
    Now, if I can just find a running track…….

  19. Rosie C says:

    Wahoo – awesome work! Apparently exercise can become addictive and I am just beginning to understand why. Enjoy your running journey! You’re inspiring me to check this C25K program out…

  20. Jodi Gibson says:

    Great stuff Annie. The first step is always the hardest! I look forward to seeing how you go and encouraging you on the way. See now you are accountable….to all of us LOL!

  21. Matt says:

    Good for you! I found your blog through google. I’m glad I’m not the only one that didn’t make it all the way through day 1. 😉 I gave up after the 5th running part and walked it off for another 5 minutes. I’ll pick it back up tomorrow though and keep trying until I get it.

Leave a Reply

