C25K Run 4 – Completed

I will preface this post with a Poo warning. If you do not like poo discussions it would be best to move along, there is nothing to see here.

This afternoon I moved onto my 2nd week of the C25K Running Program. Week 2 consists of a 5 minute warm up walk then 6 x 90 second runs with 2 minute walks in between and finishing up with a 5 minute walk to cool down.

I started off well and managed the first 90 seconds better than I thought. Unfortunately as I was doing the 2 minute walk I had a pain in my stomach. That all too familiar uncomfortable feeling that you don’t really want to get whilst out running. I pushed on for another 2 runs and decided that if I didn’t do something I was going to “do” something!

Across the road from the school I run at, there is a park with a public facility. Gross I know, however the alternative was grosser. I grabbed the dog and hoisted his rather large arse over the fence then mine followed and we ran to the “facility”.

Let me set the scene – a metal toilet bowl, no seat, thankfully loads of paper, no lock on door and a dog. Fortunately or unfortunately I have no choice but to use it. In the past when I have had to use such “facilities” I don’t put anything on the floor and I hate touching anything. This is the first time I’ve taken the dog with me. I’m trying to not touch things, however I have had to put his lead on the floor and I start stressing out about that. Meanwhile he decides to lie on the floor, stretched out as far as he can and then he gets up and drags his lead all over the rest of the floor and lies down again. Disgusting. All the while I’m watching the door, which is so far away that I can’t put my foot on it, whilst squatting and not touching anything, to stop someone opening it. Thankfully no one did. Β I had to pick up the dog lead which I washed under the cold tap with no soap – euwww.

You can all safely assume the dog has not had any cuddles tonight and his lead is soaking in Pine O Clean. Β He is booked in for a bath tomorrow.

I resumed running and finished off my run feeling rather good. As I was walking back home I remembered why I have never liked running much. It is because of the whole toilet thing, whenever I run I need to go to the toilet – it’s better than Metamucil. I can’t run early in the morning because if I haven’t done my morning routine, I get caught out. If I run after a meal same deal. Today I ran at 4.45 pm – far enough away from any meal to matter, my morning routine had been completed and yet still it happened.

I know this isn’t a great subject, but does this happen to everyone? I’ve always thought there is something wrong with me because of this, but on my last post Lucy and Shelley did mention this can be an issue for them too. It made me feel somewhat better, which is why I thought I’d blog about it tonite.

So, what I’d really like to know is how do you deal with the problem and does it ever go away or do I always need to make sure I run near a “facility”?

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in C25K, Healthy Living, Motivation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to C25K Run 4 – Completed

  1. sass says:

    Not alone at all!!
    Which is one of the benefits of having a treadmill! lol
    I think it’s probably all the umm…movement…moving the poo down.

    I start my c25k tomorrow (if my new runners ever turn up!!)

    xx

  2. Tmented says:

    This is pretty normal I find it is way worse if I have been eating bread a lot. Experiment with your diet it may help

  3. Ali says:

    Omg I don’t have the best b movements at the best of times!!
    That’s one thing I knew I would benefit from, by running..it always happens to me.. Your not alone!!
    That’s why I try to run on my treadmill at home and walk in public πŸ˜‰

  4. Cheryl says:

    I bought my own treadmill!

    I’m sorry – but I laughed so much – now *I* have a sore tummy.

    Keep up with it Annie. It’s hard work but so worth it xo

  5. Shelley says:

    The secret business of runners exposed! Well, Annie, you are the solutions queen!! This morning, I wanted to go for a run early, but I waited for the morning P – O – O to happen, and then off I went!! That’s my solution. Perhaps a star chart to help you understand just how, um, regular, you are may help with the time management side? Sorry, I haven’t got anything else to offer you. I am, after all the girl who was in full blown labour and thought I needed to do a big poo before I could leave the house. Um, not a good idea, lucky for me I still made it to hospital with 20 minutes to spare! Love a good poo story, don’t you? πŸ™‚

  6. Jenny C says:

    Athlete’s Arse – Runner’s Trots – you name it, Annie … it’s happened before and you’re not alone. πŸ˜‰

  7. Bern Morley says:

    I have to go the minute I hit the shops. Not the grocery shops, but when I’m out “browsing”. Bang, drop sticks, we have to leave Myer and start again from scratch.

    I reckon it’s what relaxes you, the running, because shopping is my trigger. So to speak.

    πŸ™‚

  8. Christie says:

    Well I’ve learned something today (can you tell I’ve never run?)
    Love it! At least you know a way to keep regular if erm..you should ever need to.
    I just wanted to say congrats on your new regime, your motivation is inspiring.

  9. OK I will admit this post was waaaaay TMI for me Annie. Waaaaayy too much. But I am so with you on the metal toilet bowl and cold water with no soap. Ugghhh! Ummm I don’t need to go during running, but yes, running definitely helps move things along, so to speak. Speaking from experience, I think if people have issues with ”going”, they should head out for a run, not take laxatives. So no, you aren’t alone – physical exercise very helpful in that regard πŸ™‚

  10. Alison Triffett says:

    OH goodness me! A woman after my own heart! Or should I say “bowel”!?

    You have no idea how much your post resonated with me here to ogbt Ms Annie! Anyone who follows my blogs on “Style” will see why this topic tickles my fancy so much!? Topics like the title of my workshops should give it away…”Does my bum look big in this?” AND also “I may feel like sh** but I don’t have to look like sh**”!!!!

    I’ve shared many a story with my friends, and even my clients about my own tragic stories of embarrassing “movements” – and I have no doubt I will sharing many more as the years go on. Your story gave me such a laugh – not AT you but WITH you of course!! Too many if us are just a little “anal retentive” I feel! I don’t need to run anywhere (in fact I’d be happy if I could just entertain the thought, let alone do it!) to understand what you’re talking about! With less than 20cm left to go, (bowel that is!) and numerous embarrassing procedures under my belt that would curl your already curly pubic hair, I couldn’t do anything more than pee my pants reading your account of your latest run Annie! Haha get it? RUN!? God, I crack me up sometimes?! I have no pearls of wisdom re running to offer you, I’m afraid. The only running I ever do is “to the loo” and up tona dozen times a day on a particularly bad day. See why this running caper is “for the birds” to me?! All I can offer is confirmation that you are SO not alone inthe “eeeow how embarrassment” stakes. Just you wait till explain the ins and OUTS of anal manometary and defeacagrams with you!?? Ooooh that’ll really get u going, so to speak!! Bet you can’t wait for that one, can you?! Hehe…

    Great bog as always – oops, I meant “blog”!! You always “keep it real”. I think I’ve found my long lost sister!

    Big Al x

  11. Alison Triffett says:

    Poops! I mean ooops! One guess why there are so many “predictive text typos” in my last comment?! Yes! I was ON THE LOO as I posted it! It’s pretty much my office these days! Too much info?! Oh, OK then. “Moving” right along then…

  12. Pingback: Tweets that mention C25K Run 4 – Completed | Living Life as Me -- Topsy.com

  13. Maxabella says:

    No idea what to say, really. Really! x

  14. Lucy says:

    I get up at 5am for coffee, blog and POO time. Otherwise I am just not able to get my brain around the fact that I might get caught short.

    It is a PITA, but I refuse to let my beautiful bowel movements hinder my fitness!

    (I also realise that this 5am habit has given me the time and inclination to blog and read blogs daily. So my poo issues are a GOOD thing!)

    Annie, I have a shake for brekky every day that includes 3 teaspoons of physillium husk. I have brekky the same time every day (7.30am) and so I reckon I have “trained” my bum to do poos at 5.30am every day.

    (I know. I am a poo obsessed freak.)

  15. weight says:

    yeah my dad will like this

  16. This is why I LOVE blogging! I haven’t been a runner for a while (using the baby excuse), but back in my days of running half marathons this was a BIG issue for me (not race day, thank god, just training runs), and at the time I didn’t know anyone else who had the same problem. Now I know- its not just me- thank you! The next bit I write may fall into TMI so divert your eyes, if you’re a little squeemish- I once went for a run while on a weekend away at Cabarita. It was a great run along the beach, and time got away from me and I just kept running and running, but got caught short about 2 k’s from the nearest loo. Needless to say I was NEVER going to get back in time, and to run into the bush and got close to nature. It was a liberating experience!

Leave a Reply

