C25K Runs 5 & 6

Late this afternoon I completed run 6. This means on Sunday I start a new week. I don’t know how far I will be running because I don’t like to look until the day, that way I can’t stress out about it. I’m thinking it will be 2 minute runs. Currently doing 90 seconds and, can I just say, I never knew 90 seconds to take such a long time to pass!!

I don’t really like this running business much, but I definitely do love the feeling after I’m finished. I find that the whole way through the 30 minutes I am fighting a mental war with myself. It goes a bit like this:

“My legs hurt, I might just walk today.”

“No I have to run, I can’t come back and blog that I quit.”

“This run is killing me, I don’t think I can do 5 more of these. I’ll stop half way.”

“Ok I’ve done 2 runs, next one is half way, I think I can make it.”

“Oh my calves are burning and I think I’m getting a stomach ache. I don’t think I can keep going. Hurry up and say walk again, please.”

“I think I can go another run, my stomach doesn’t hurt any more.”

“OMG when is he going to say walk again, my legs are going to fall off. Why am I doing this to myself? It’s too hard.”

“Ok, I’ve only got two more runs to go, this is great. I can make it. Woo hoo.”

“Why do my calves burn so much? Does this happen to others people? Maybe it is because I am so old? How am I going to run for 30 minutes? It will never happen. For Christ sake tell me to stop running, I need to walk NOW.”

“Yes, almost there, I’ve go one more run to do. I can do it. I’ll walk this way so when I start running it will be all downhill which will make it a bit easier. My legs are dying.”

“Crap, that 2 minute walk went too fast, my legs are not wanting to move. I’m glad it’s dark because I’m shuffling along like Cliff Young and I don’t want anyone to see me. Oh crap, where is the dog? It’s dark and can’t see him. I’ll have to keep running and find him when I’m done. Far out this hurts, please say stop, I am dying here.”

“Thank goodness I am finished. Woo hoo I did it. I’m becoming a runner. Where the hell is the dog? Sammy where are you?? Let’s go home. Come on, I can’t walk any further to find you. There you are, come on get up, I can’t carry you to the car, my legs can barely carry me!”

At least the last two runs have been toilet free. I seem to have worked out a routine (for now).

Will there ever be a time I don’t wage this mental war with myself or is this, like the toilet stuff, just a part of the running process?

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to C25K Runs 5 & 6

  1. sass says:

    I don’t know if it gets any easier…maybe after we are used to it??

    I’m so the same, the first run I’m ok, the second, third and fourth i’m mentally bossing myself to keep running, the last run I always sprint it, don’t know why as it just about kills me, but I feel so much better after i’ve done it!!

    I’ve worked out if I go to the loo before I start i’m ok…though an hour after I need to go again! lol
    It can only be a positive…at least running is keeping us regular!! LOL

    xxxx

  2. Lucy says:

    I am always OK on a third run/interval. And the fourth is the one when I think I can fly. And then I croak.

    You are doing SO well Annie.

  3. Thea says:

    You talk to yourself just the way I do.
    How amazing is it though, that so much of what you can or can’t do is mental, not physical.
    I love this saying, “Whether you think you can, or whether you think you can’t, you’re right.”
    You are doing so great, Annie!!!

  4. Seraphimsp says:

    You’re a total star. I am so impressed with your bravery and perseverance. x

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention C25K Runs 5 & 6 | Living Life as Me -- Topsy.com

  6. Shelley says:

    The only thing that changes when you run further is that you have more time to have those conversations with yourself! It’s just a mental game methinks. This couch to 5k program definitely trains you up well, in seven weeks I can do 27 minutes, even if I feel from the 3rd minute onwards that it’s not possible. But it is. Physically, your body will respond, each and every run, each and every week. I enjoy the mental side now because I’m learning that I can beat myself at my own game! Keep running Annie. xxx

  7. Sue (Just_Leithal) says:

    I agree with Shelley. You will be continually challenged but you will look back (after running 20 mins) and think about how hard it was for you to run 90 seconds mere weeks before- it’ll put it into perspective. Then you will see just how far you have come.

    If someone told me I would be running to 30 mins when I started C25K months ago I would have laughed in their face. I could barely walk after the first week.

    Keep up the good work.

    Sue

    PS It’s ok to run slowly. Your times can be worked on once you get further along.

  8. I swan at an elite level. I trained twice/three times a day for the best part of my life. The mental battle NEVER ends. EVER.
    BUT you are winning that mental battle every time you put on your shoes, take that dog and head out there. Every step you take while waiting for that voice to give you permission to stop is a victory. And every time you can celebrate having done it by pushing yourself to not cut corners and without flogging yourself to death, every time you find that find that balance, you are a champion. So yay for fighting the good fight!

    Nadine x

  9. JohnP says:

    Keep going no matter what. I don’t really talk to myself while running or walking. I’m thinking about other, unrelated, things. Today it was about the cold outside. The watch is setup for whatever interval is needed that day, so until the beeps happen, I just need to keep going.

    Does anyone else like to run in the early morning while it is dark?

    This morning I started week 5 and couldn’t do it completely. I’m doing C210K, which is similar to C25K. Training today was a 3 min run/1 min walk with 9 intervals. OUCH! I didn’t finish all the intervals even though last week was reasonably easy. Bought a cheap Timex Ironman watch to deal with the different intervals, since I don’t want a tiny mp3 player and traffic here makes it dangerous, even at 5:30 am.

    In 2007 I weighed almost 300lbs in 2007. By April of 2008, I’d lost about 65lbs. Basically, I took up hiking and watched what I ate. No running. About a yr later, I’d been mostly maintaining, but dropped off to plan after a visit to Hershey, PA. In May 2010, **I decided** again to get fit and started hiking 5x each week, up from 1-2x per week. I’d gained back 25 lbs. In August, more and more difficult hikes started becoming easy, so I needed to ramp up the intensity and lower the time commitment. 2 hours every other day is a pretty big commitment even for someone retired (I’m young for being retired).

    I haven’t run since 10th grade and I’m still a large man. Had lunch with an old friend who had started the C25K plan in April and just restarted after healing from an early injury. I was plateauing on the weight loss and needed higher intensity, so I **decided** to start running. I routinely hike 5-8 miles, so 5K didn’t seem very far, so I searched out a 10K plan.

    I’ve just got to keep going with the jogging. It appears I’ll be redoing the workout for today more than a few times until I actually complete it. I hope it doesn’t take more than 1 extra week. I left only 1 week extra in the training schedule before the 10K run that I’m signed up to do. My plan is to become a 3x per week jogger and continue dropping weight until under 200lbs.

    I have to visualize the goal for my motivation. Keep going. Always keep going until the plan is finished.

  10. Feeling so very lazy. Well done to you all for getting out there and running. Need to get in shape after Baby 3 and I have a long way to go. I wish I could get inspired – you are inspiring Annie. Thanks!

    www://biancawordley.blogspot.com

  11. Ali says:

    it sounds tough! but your doing a great job!

Leave a Reply

