C25K Week 3 Run 2 – in Darwin

I thought going away for work would throw a spanner in the works with my C25K running program, but it wasn’t quite as bad as I thought.  I was able to get away from work early and do a run along the waterfront and wharf precinct of Darwin.

Darwin Waterfront Precinct – Photo Credit

I started out feeling great, the location was spectacular and the walk was really pleasant, then the first run rolled around … those 90 seconds running nearly killed me!  I admit that this was probably because I hadn’t run since last Friday.  I took the 90 second walk to recover before the 3 minute run.  OMG I had to fight with everything inside me to keep running. The humidity was oppressive and my legs were burning, as this was my first run on bitumen.  All runs have either been on a grass running track or a treadmill.   I managed to run the 2 sets of 90 seconds and the 2 sets of 3 minutes, but it was hard, damn hard!

During the 5 minute cool down walk it really made me think about how different terrains and climates can impact on fitness levels.  Not being a seasoned runner I hadn’t given this much thought before.

Running on a treadmill seems to be the easiest option.  Usually a controlled climate, no temperature fluctuations from one run to the next and the ability to control inclines manually.  Running on a flat grass running track is harder than the treadmill mainly due to the varying temperatures.  I find if the air is a little cooler the run is more comfortable, yet when humidity & heat are high I struggle.  Most difficult is road/street running.  So much less control, particularly with terrain.  I think road running is going to give me the better work out, however it may be the least kind on my knees.

The week before I left for Darwin I decided I was going to do all my runs at the gym – I have now changed my mind.  Whilst the treadmill is the best option for my knees, it is also the easiest option.  It’s time I ramped this exercise and healthy eating gig up and actually take it seriously and stop taking the easy way out.  That old saying, “if you keep doing the same things you will keep getting the same results” is just so true.  Therefore I have decided that I will mix my running venues up a little ensuring that at least one run per week is a road run.

Tomorrow I will be running and hoping to do a road run.  If the wind hasn’t died down, I may head to the gym, because let’s face it, a run is a run and a run on the treadmill sure beats not going at all.  Am I taking the easy way out?  Maybe.  I’m still working on it. Really I am.

Before I finish, I have to say a huge CONGRATULATIONS to the lovely Shelley at My Shoebox Life who has successfully finished her C25K program.  Shelly was/is my inspiration to starting this journey to fitness again.  Shelley has been amazing and I am going to miss her running posts.

About Annieb25

A mum to 2 teenage boys, would be writer, thirsty for knowledge, Radio Solution solver on Radio 1116 4BC and so much more!!
This entry was posted in C25K, Healthy Living, Motivation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to C25K Week 3 Run 2 – in Darwin

  1. Jo says:

    Well done Annie! Running in Darwin would be soo hard – I salute you!! Really enjoyed all our Twitter to-and-fro last night re health and fitness. I love the accountability online 🙂
    you’re a rock star – keep running!
    Jo xx

  2. Lucy says:

    Well done Annie. All of my time in the Territory I was either obese or pregnant so I never ran. But I can imagine the humidity and just how hard that would be.

    You are spot on about the different “terrains”.

    I can literally do double on the treadmill (in terms of time or distance) in comparison to road or track or grass.

    It is easier for me to concentrate on my pace and easier to “love” the run on the treadmill as I am not focusing on road safety/irrgularlities of surface.

    But I prefer the wind in my hair and the smells of the bush. I also love the downward run after a real hill – call me a soppy tart, but sometimes I feel like I could fly and this makes me spring happy tears some days….

    So mixing it up works for me too – I do a mixture through the week, depending on weather and time…..

  3. Naomi says:

    Well done Annie. You’re right about different conditions and terrain. I am going to get a treadmill so I can give my knees a break from the hilly, uneven, gravel terrain I run on usually. But mixing it up is good. And you’re right, a run is a run.. and it’s all better than nothing at all.
    I’m looking forward to a run next year with you at the bloggers conference! 🙂

  4. Kirsty Rice says:

    Congrats Annie,

    I’m on week 7 but am finding I’m losing my motivation…..your post’ really help me get enthused about running again. It makes such a difference when you know that not everyone finds running so easy breasy. Oh how I would love to LOVE my running.

    On another note, thanks for the lovely blog comments. I got such a kick out of the response and when John Cusack popped on to the blog and then became a twitter follower I thought I might pass out with the excitement. I have bored everyone senseless, must stop talking about it.

    Thanks Annie, so so glad our blog/twitter paths crossed.

    Kirsty

  5. Shelley says:

    You’re doing so well! I really think blogging helps at the beginning to get you motivated to do the program. Just remember, we all support you and are so proud of your running efforts! Every time you’re out there, I’m right behind you. xx

  6. Kylie L says:

    Yay for you! I nearly DIED the first time I ran in Broome- the humidity (in April, end of the wet) was 90% and I was soaked after five minutes (nb. sweat, not rain). Seven months later I think I’m managing it a lot better- though of course it hasn’t been that humid at all during the dry, over October the humidity has crept up again and I’m still running my 6km. Something else that as really made me work harder too is running on sand. If you can. try it. I do 2 beach runs a week (barefoot) and it is SO much harder on my legs- but I have to say my legs and butt have NEVER looked better. Want me to post a pic? 😉
    Keep it up- you’re doing great 🙂

  7. Seraphimsp says:

    You’re a brave woman! Good on you for going outside. I haven’t run on a treadmill in years for the same reason, I love the outdoors too much and it challenges me far more. It makes me a more authentic runner I think. Today I’m suiting up and going for my first run in ages. You’ve inspired me to do it after a long hiatus. Thanks x

  8. MultipleMum says:

    I hit the pavement myself this morning after a few weeks off (sick). I felt great! Glad you are enjoying the program. I am a graduate and it has changed my life 🙂

  9. Cate Pearce says:

    Well done that you kept it up while out of your normal environment, I know I would’ve used it as an excuse to slacken off.
    I don’t run (two dodgy knees that would require surgery and rehab if I want to) but I’m usually a regular walker and feeling very lazy at the mo, too many excuses lately.
    Feeling inspired to pull my finger out.

  10. Maxabella says:

    Wow, that’s true commitment running when you’re on a biz trip. Very transatlantic. “Great way to see a new place” and all that?!? x

Leave a Reply

